Current Environment:

Current residents

Kira Adkins, PharmD

Kira Adkins, PharmD

  • Hometown: Charleston, S.C.
  • Pharmacy school: Medical University of South Carolina
  • PGY-1 site: Prisma Health Upstate
  • Professional interests: general pediatrics, PICU
  • What do you like to do in your free time? "Hot yoga, reading, traveling and exploring parks with my pup, Luka!"
  • Why Boston Children’s Hospital for PGY2 training? "Boston Children’s offers an intellectually stimulating and challenging culture, which provides the opportunity for me to achieve my professional goal of becoming a confident pediatric clinical pharmacy specialist, educator, and advocate for underserved populations. For someone like me who hasn’t chosen a specialty, the robust rotation offerings assure me that I will get much exposure and flexibility with my schedule throughout the year. Outside of core rotations, this program offers dynamic and diverse elective experiences, like the chance to experience critical care in a unique light during the neurology elective with the neuro ICU team. The high acuity pediatric population can present many challenges and rewards, so I am excited to train at an institution where pharmacy is fully integrated into patient care. Integration into an interdisciplinary team with providers of different backgrounds and styles of communication will further develop my clinical critical reasoning, leadership, and conversational skills. Lastly, I admire unique opportunities, like manuscript peer review, as I continue to advance my research proficiencies."

Our alumni

  • 2022-23: Alexis Duncan, PharmD; Jennifer Trodella, PharmD
  • 2021-22: Lauren Fleser, PharmD
  • 2020-21: Leigh Furman, PharmD
  • 2019-20: Drew Goodrich, PharmD, BCPPS
  • 2018-19: Ashlee Baucom, PharmD
  • 2017-18: Erin Tibbetts, PharmD, BCPPS
  • 2016-17: Parrish Chase Carpenter, PharmD, BCPPS, CACP
  • 2015-16: Gideon Stitt, PharmD, BCPPS
  • 2014-15: Mary Riedy, PharmD, BCPPS
  • 2013-14: Shirley Lam, PharmD
  • 2012-13: Julie Gegg, PharmD, BCOP
  • 2011-12: Jessica Miller, PharmD, BCPS
  • 2010-11: Esther Chu, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS
  • 2009-10: Nathan Lamb, PharmD, BCPPS
  • 2008-09: Amy Hellinger, PharmD, BCPS
  • 2007-08: Joyce Lee, PharmD, BCPS
  • 2006-07: Liza Li, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS
  • 2005-06: Sarah Kelly, PharmD
  • 2004-05: Sarah Jones, PharmD, BCPS
  • 2003-04: Kristopher Young, PharmD
  • 2002-03: Sean O’Neill, PharmD; Jennifer Girotto, PharmD
  • 2000-01: Shawna Nowels, PharmD
  • 1999-2000: Catherine Tom, PharmD
  • 1998-99: Brenda Dodson, PharmD
  • 1997-98: Kristina Kloos, PharmD

Pharmacy | Contact Us

Contact the Department of Pharmacy