Current Environment:

What is a milk allergy?

A milk allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in cows’ milk. It is most common among infants and young children.

Which foods should a milk-allergic child avoid?

Dairy products such as cream, cheese, butter, ice cream, and yogurt all contain the proteins found in cows’ milk. But milk proteins may also be present in other commonly eaten foods, so it is important to read the labels of any food or beverage you are considering giving your child.

Are products labeled ‘non-dairy’ safe for a milk-allergic child?

Not necessarily. These products do not contain butter, cream, or milk, but they may still use other milk-containing ingredients. Check the ingredient list to be certain.

What other ‘surprising’ foods should a milk-allergic child watch out for?

Processed meats, including hot dogs, sausages, and luncheon meats, frequently contain milk or are processed on milk-containing lines. Carefully read all food labels.

Avoid ingredients including:

  • artificial butter flavor
  • butter, butter fat, buttermilk
  • casein
  • caseinates (ammonium, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sodium)
  • cheese, cottage cheese, curds
  • cream
  • custard, pudding
  • ghee
  • half and half
  • hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)
  • lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
  • lactoglobulin
  • lactose
  • milk (derivative, protein, solids, malted, condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, lowfat, nonfat, skim)
  • nougat
  • rennet casein
  • sour cream
  • sour cream solids
  • whey
  • yogurt

Also, carefully review these other possible sources of milk or milk products:

  • brown sugar flavoring
  • caramel flavoring
  • chocolate
  • high protein flour
  • lactic acid starter culture

Milk Allergy | Programs & Services