Child Life Services

LIke ThisLIke ThisLIke ThisLIke ThisLIke This
Our Mission

Child Life Services

The mission of the Child Life Services Department is to assist and support patients and families in their adjustment to the hospital experience.  Emotional and developmental interventions are provided to ensure that the appropriate care and services are provided.  This mission is accomplished through collaborative interdisciplinary practice and education. 


Here at Boston Children’s Hospital, child life specialists are part of the healthcare team.  Members of the child life department work closely with the multidisciplinary team to provide developmental perspectives and support the varied needs of patients and families.


Child life specialists work to enhance patients’ emotional, social, and cognitive growth during a hospital visit, taking into consideration each child’s family, culture, and developmental needs.  They use developmental interventions and play to help patients and families adjust to and understand their health care experiences.


Donation Guidelines


Child Life Services at Boston Children’s Hospital would like to thank you for thinking of the patients at Boston Children’s Hospital. Your thoughtfulness will bring so much joy to our patients and families.

 

Being in the hospital can be difficult any time of year, but can be even more challenging around a holiday.  Donations like your allow us to bring a bit of warmth and wonder to our families’ celebrations.  Your gifts of toys at other times of the year will help children year round and not overload them at the holidays.



ACCEPTABLE ELECTRONICS:


•DS systems & games (rated E-T)

•Wii U or Nintendo Switch games (rated E-T)

•Xbox 360 games (rated E-T)

• Controllers (PS4, Xbox, Wii)

• Xbox1 controllers & games (rated E-T), portable CD players

• NEW DVD’s rated G, PG, PG-13


UNACCEPTABLE ITEMS:


• NO USED TOYS are accepted due to infection control guidelines, as they could be harmful to children. This includes used stuffed animals. 

• No small toys a child might choke on or homemade cloth toys

• Please DO NOT WRAP donations as items must be checked before being given to a child.

• We do not accept FOOD, USED COMPUTERS, FURNITURE OR MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SUCH AS WHEELCHAIRS OR WALKERS 


DELIVERY:/DROP-OFF OF DONATIONS:


•NO APPOINTMENT IS NECESSARY TO DROP OFF DONATIONS.  For larger donation you can contact the Child Life office at:

617-355-6551 to arrange a drop-off time

•Donations can be dropped off at the front desk of our main reception area:

300 Longwood Avenue

 Boston, MA  02115

Attention-Child Life Services

•We also accept donations at our satellite offices such as Martha Eliot Health Center, Waltham and Peabody

•Please provide your name, address and content of your donations  so we can acknowledge it.  Please see the link to download our Donation Receipt.

***Due to infection control, safety and the privacy of our patients and families, donors are not allowed to personally distribute gifts directly to patients.


Meet the team of Child Life Services
Director Beth Donegan Driscoll MS, CCLS***  
Center for Families / Pawprints Program
Lynn Belkin MS-CL, CCLS
 Lynn.Belkin@childrens.harvard.edu
Child Life Art Specialist
Michelle Dean-Onabajo MS, CCLS
 Michelle.DeanOnabajo@childrens.harvard.edu
Computer Support Tech
Ryan McAskill
 
Creative Arts Manager Miranda Day MS, MBA, CCLS **  Miranda.Guardiani@childrens.harvard.edu
Education & Program Coordinator
Suzanne Graca MS, CCLS ***
 Suzanne.Graca@childrens.harvard.edu
Media Program Specialist Maxwell Svec  Maxwell.Svec@childrens.harvard.edu
Trust, Marketing, Special Events
Kirsten Getchell MS, CCLS ***
 Kirsten.Getchell@childrens.harvard.edu
Volunteer Services



Center for Families
Jessica Strzelecki MEd, CCLS


Sarah Sullivan MS, CCLS**
 Jessica.Strzelecki@childrens.harvard.edu



Sarah.Sullivan3@childrens.harvard.edu

Inpatient Units
6 Northeast - Inpatient Oncology Annika Stout MS, CCLS  Annika.Stout@childrens.harvard.edu
6 West - Stem Cell Transplant Brittany Metcalf BS, CCLS  Brittany.Metcalf@childrens.harvard.edu
7 West - Medicine Patient Service Lauren Wilson BS, CCLS  Lauren.Wilson@childrens.harvard.edu
7 South - Surgical Intensive Care Megan Leibovitz MS, CCLS  Megan.Leibovitz@childrens.harvard.edu
7 North - Neonatal Intensive Care Darlene Salvatore BS, CCLS**  Darlene.Salvatore@childrens.harvard.edu
8 East and West - Cardiology Lauren Smizer BS, CCLS**  Lauren.Smizer@ childrens.harvard.edu
  Emily Springer, MS, CCLS Emily.Springer@childrens.harvard.edu
Erin Connelly MS, CCLS  Erin.Connelly@childrens.harvard.edu
8 South - Cardiac Intensive Care Kate Huyler MS, CCLS  Kate.Huyler@childrens.harvard.edu
9 Northwest - Neurology Andrea Lerude MS, CCLS  Andrea.Lerude@childrens.harvard.edu
9 East - Medicine Patient Services Kristen Priven MS, CCLS  Kristen.Priven@childrens.harvard.edu
9 South - Medicine Patient Services Jennifer Nguyen MS, CCLS  Jennifer.Nguyen@childrens.harvard.edu
10 East - Infant/Toddler Surgery Leanne Rotman MS, CCLS  Leanne.Rotman@childrens.harvard.edu
10 Northwest - Surgery Theresa Rankin MS, CCLS  Theresa.Rankin@childrens.harvard.edu
Laurel Anderson MS, CCLS  Laurel.Anderson@childrens.harvard.edu
10 South - Surgical & Solid Organ Transplant Alison Burns MS, CCLS  Alison.Burns@childrens.harvard.edu
11 South - Medicine Intensive Care Unit/Intermediate Care Program Jamie Crosby MS, CCLS  Jamie.Crosby@childrens.harvard.edu
Weekend Program
6th Floor - Inpatient Oncology Mary Malley MS, CCLS**  Mary.Malley@childrens.harvard.edu
7 South/7 North - Surgical Intensive Care Unit/Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

7 West/11 South - Medicine Patient Services/Medicine Intensive Care Unit/Intermediate Care Program Shelby Pustis, MS, CCLS  Shelby.Pustis@childrens.harvard.edu
8th Floor - Inpatient Cardiology Lynne Long BA, CCLS, CEIM  Lynne.Long@childrens.harvaerd.edu
9th Floor - Inpatient Neurology & Medicine

10th Floor - Inpatient Surgery

Outpatient Clinics
6 South - Cardiac Catheterization Lab/Cardiac/Cardiac Pre-Op Maureen Abramson MS, CCLS***  Maureen.Abramson@childrens.harvard.edu
CAT/CR- Infusion Center Jill Twomey-McLaughlin BS, CCLS**  Jill.TwomeyMclaughlin@childrens.harvard.edu
Clinics Gail Windmueller MS, CCLS
 Gail.Windmueller@childrens.harvard.edu
Dialysis LaKeisha Garcia MS, CCLS   LaKeisha.Garcia@childrens.harvard.edu 
  Robyn Snyder MS, CCLS   Robyn.Snyder@childrens.harvard.edu 
Day Surgery Milagros Lopez-Ramirez MS, CCLS Milagros.LopezRamirez@childrens.harvard.edu
Autism Spectrum Center Kristin Diesel MS, CCLS  Kristin.Diezel@childrens.harvard.edu
Emergency Department Dafne Saavedra-Preskins MS, CCLS**   Dafne.SaavedraPreskins@childrens.harvard.edu 
  Cami Polfuss MS, CCLS   Cami.Polfuss@childrens.harvard.edu 
  Emi Layok MS, CCLS   Emi.Loyok@childrens.harvard.edu 
  Samantha Swankowski MS, CCLS
 Samantha.Swankowski@childrens.harvard.edu
Phlebotomy/Pre-Op Admitting Erin Wholly MS, CCLS  Erin.Whooley@childrens.harvard.edu
Pre-Op Holding/PACU Carrie Card MS, CCLS**   Carrie.Card@childrens.harvard.edu 
Primary Care Center Addie Rosenstock MS, CCLS**  Addie.Rosenstock@childrens.harvard.edu
  Fiorella Downey MS, CCLS   Fiorella.Downey@childrens.harvard.edu 
Nuclear Medicine Trisha Ashe BS, CCLS**  Patricia.Ashe@childrens.harvard.edu
Radiology Angela Franceschi MEd, CCLS**  Angela.Franceschi@childrens.harvard.edu
MRI Catherine Verow MS, CCLS Catherine.Verow@childrens.harvard.edu
Satellites
Martha Eliot Hayley Sorensen MS, CCLS**  Hayley.Sorensen@childrens.harvard.edu
  Christine Dumais MEd, CCLS  Christine.Dumais@childrens.harvard.edu
Peabody Jessica Randall MS, CCLS  Jessica.Randall@childrens.harvard.edu
Waltham

Colleen Daly MS, CCLS** 

Sara Kumin MS, CCLS
 Colleen.Daly@childrens.harvard.edu


Sarah.Kumin@childrens.harvard.edu

Boston Children’s is so much more than a hospital—it’s a community of researchers, clinicians, administrators, support staff, innovators, teachers, patients and families, all working together to make the impossible possible. ”
- Sandra L. Fenwick, President and CEO

Boston Children's Hospital
300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
For Patients: 617-355-6000
For Referring Providers: 844-BCH-PEDS | 844-224-7337

Close