Department of Pediatrics | Administrative Leadership

Department Leadership and Administration

Gary R. Fleisher, MD, Physician-in-Chief, Pediatrician-in-Chief, and Chair

William Tarvainen, Chief Operating Officer

Frederick H. Lovejoy, Jr, MD, Associate Physician-in-Chief and Deputy Chair

Alan Leichtner, MD, Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs

Theodore C. Sectish, MD, Vice Chair for Education


Anne Stack, MD, Vice Chair for Quality & Outcomes

Joseph A. Majzoub, MD, Vice Chair for Research

Melissa Martin, Department Director

Greg Beaumier, Controller

Cheryl Fix, Director, Compliance

Niv Sampath, Manager, Decision Support Systems

Division Leadership and Administration

Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine 

Division Chief: Catherine Gordon, MD, MS
Division Manager: Adrianne Goncalves
Practice Administrator: Rose Norton

Computational Health Informatics Program (CHIP)

Division Chief: Kenneth D. Mandl, MD, MPH
Division Manager: Andrew Kiss

Developmental Medicine

Division Chief: William Barbaresi, MD
Division Manager: Sandra Maislen
Practice Administrator: Donald Surette

Emergency Medicine

Division Chief: Richard G. Bachur, MD
Division Manager: Virginia Hinrichsen


Division Chief: Joel N. Hirschhorn, MD, PhD
Division Manager: Rosanne Walcott
Practice Administrator: Pedro Millet

Gastroenterology and Nutrition

Division Chief: Wayne I. Lencer, MD
Division Manager: Anna Spivak
Practice Administrator: Cheryl Biederman

General Pediatrics

Division Chief: Christopher P. Landrigan, MD, MPH
Division Manager: Alissa Westerlund
Practice Administrator: Omar Santiago

Genetics and Genomics

Division Chief: Christopher Walsh, MD, PhD
Division Manager: Alexander Schwarzer
Practice Administrator: Karen Ambrose


Division Chief: David A. Williams, MD
Division Manager: Maria Suarez
Practice Administrator: Luis Alvernaz


Division Chief: Raif S. Geha, MD
Division Manager: Sayde El-Hachem
Practice Administrator: Luis Alvernaz

Infectious Diseases

Division Chief: Dennis Kim, MD, PhD
Division Manager: Nora Boyle
Practice Administrator: Rose Norton

Medical Critical Care

Division Chief: Michael S.D. Agus, MD
Division Manager: Jamin Alexander

Molecular Medicine

Division Chief: Stephen C. Harrison, PhD
Division Manager: Karen Lee

Neonatology (Newborn Medicine)

Division Chief: Stella Kourembanas, MD
Division Manager: Sarah Austin


Division Chief: Friedhelm Hildebrandt, MD
Division Manager: Arifa Kapadia

Pulmonary Medicine

Division Chief: Benjamin A. Raby MD, MPH
Division Manager: Margaret Phillips
Practice Administrator: Karen Ambrose