PCMM | 2014

December, 19, 2014

Dr. Tim Springer was honored with the 2014 American Society of Hematology Henry M. Stratton Medal

The 2014 American Society of Hematology Henry M. Stratton Medal for Basic Research was awarded to Timothy Springer, Ph.D. for his seminal contributions to basic hematology research. During his 35-year research career, Tim Springer has focused his research efforts on the basic mechanisms of hemostasis, inflammation, and immunity. Dr. Springer’s landmark contributions to the understanding of the structure-function relationship of adhesion molecules, interaction of blood cells with vascular endothelium, and detailed analysis of shear force on von Willebrand factor biology and its cleavage by ADAMTS-13 have helped pave the way for a number of new therapeutic agents.

November 13, 2014

Dr. Wesley Wong receives Beckman Young Investigator Award

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation has honored Dr. Wesley Wong with a Beckman Young Investigator Award, which recognizes promising young faculty in chemistry and the life sciences. The funding provided by this award will help Dr. Wong to continue to develop single-molecule centrifugation, an approach that will enable researchers to perform high-throughput single-molecule manipulation in a simple and inexpensive way. By incorporating a miniature microscope into a centrifuge,  forces can be applied to thousands of single molecules at once while observing their individual response, enabling such measurements to be made thousands of times faster than traditional approaches, for a fraction of the cost. This approach has the potential to revolutionize many areas of biomedical research. 

May 13, 2014

Dr. Tom Kirchhausen became a newly elected member of EMBO

Tom Kirchhausen was one of the 106 outstanding researchers in the life sciences that were newly elected to European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) membership. One hundred of the scientists reside in Europe and neighboring countries; six Associate Members were elected from China, Japan and the United States. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1600 life scientists.

EMBO has decided to strategically expand the scope of its membership on the occasion of its 50th anniversary to honor the progress that has been made in the fields of neuroscience and ecology & evolution. The 106 new members for 2014 include 50 scientists who have made exceptional contributions to these research areas.

May 04, 2014

Dr. Tim Springer received AAI - Life Technologies Meritorious Career Award

On May 4th, 2014 Dr. Tim Springer received a prestigious Life Technologies Meritorious Career Award from the Council of the American Association of Immunologists (AAI).  This award recognized Dr. Springer for his outstanding research contributions to the field of immunology.