Internal Funding Opportunities

LIke ThisLIke ThisLIke ThisLIke ThisLIke This

Boston Children’s Hospital: Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine: 

The Anesthesia Executive Research Committee

In January, 2012 the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine formed The Anesthesia Executive Research Committee (AERC). The AERC is composed of a group of faculty with a variety of expertise and research interests and is charged with directing efforts to improve and strengthen research endeavors of the department.  The members are charged with examining research activities, providing guidance and recommendations for future work, and rendering its professional judgment about the quality and importance of contributions from research programs of clinical departments at Boston Children’s Hospital—specifically with a focus on clinical and basic research in neuroscience. 

A priority of the Committee is to increase communication and collaboration between members of the department and to enhance the research experience and training of junior faculty and postdoctoral fellows.  Two initiatives are currently being pursued: first, periodic monthly research presentations and meeting are being organized, and second, a funding mechanism is being established to seed research projects. 

To allow to fund smaller projects and as a seed money Dr. Hickey committed $250,000 annually.

The Committee is currently seeking applications for funding of research projects and pilot studies.  The goal of funding is to improve knowledge relevant to the practice of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine, Pain Medicine, and Critical Care with the primary purpose of fostering the growth of research within the department.  This funding is aimed at projects that will yield data suitable for presentation at national and international meetings, peer-reviewed publication, and provide data for NIH or Foundation award applications.

Executive Research Committee Members



Adrienne G. Randolph, MD.

Critical Care Medicine

Charles B. Berde, MD, PhD.

Pain Medicine, Perioperative Anesthesia

Constance S.  Houck, MD.

Perioperative Anesthesia

Daniel S. Kohane, MD, PhD.

Perioperative Anesthesia, Critical Care Medicine

David Borsook, MD.

Pain Medicine

Douglas Cowan, PhD.

Cardiac Anesthesia, Anesthesiology

Gregory P.  Priebe, MD.

Critical Care Medicine

James DiNardo, MD.

Cardiac Anesthesia

John H. Arnold, MD.              

Critical Care Medicine, Perioperative Anesthesia

Kathryn  G.Commons, PhD.

Pain Medicine 

Mary Ellen McCann, MD, MPH.

Perioperative Anesthesia

Robert C.  Tasker, MBBS, MD.

Critical Care Medicine, Neurology, Anesthesia

Robert D, Truog, MD.

Critical Care Medicine, Perioperative Anesthesia

Sulpicio G. Soriano, II, MD.

Perioperative Anesthesia


Kathryn Commons, PhD.

Robert Tasker, MBBS, MD.


Pain Medicine

Critical Care Medicine, Neurology, Anesthesia

Request an Appointment

If this is a medical emergency, please dial 9-1-1. This form should not be used in an emergency.

Patient Information
Date of Birth:
Contact Information
Appointment Details
Send RequestIf you do not see the specialty you are looking for, please call us at: 617-355-6000.International visitors should call International Health Services at +1-617-355-5209.
Please complete all required fields

This department is currently not accepting appointment requests online. Please call us at: 617-355-6000. International +1-617-355-6000.

This department is currently not accepting appointment requests online. Please call us at: 617-355-6000. International +1-617-355-6000.

Thank you.

Your request has been successfully submitted

You will be contacted within 1 business day.

If you have questions or would like more information, please call:

617-355-6000 +1-617-355-6000
Find a Doctor
Search by Clinician's Last Name or Specialty:
Select by Location:
Search by First Letter of Clinician's Last Name: *ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
Condition & Treatments
Search for a Condition or Treatment:
View allSearch
The future of pediatrics will be forged by thinking differently, breaking paradigms and joining together in a shared vision of tackling the toughest challenges before us.”
- Sandra L. Fenwick, President and CEO