Gregory Laboratory | Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Richard Gregory Headshot

Richard I. Gregory, PhD

Dr. Gregory is Professor in the Departments of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, and Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, and Principal Investigator in The Stem Cell Program in the Division of Hematolgy/Oncology at Boston Children’s Hospital. He is also Principal faculty member of The Harvard Stem Cell Institute, and a 2008 Pew Scholar. He received a PhD from Cambridge University, UK in 2001, studying genomic imprinting at the Babraham Institute. Dr. Gregory performed his postdoctoral work at the Fox Chase Cancer Center and the Wistar Institute, Philadelphia. His postdoctoral research focused on mechanisms of miRNA biogenesis and function, and was supported by a Jane Coffin Childs Research Fellowship. Since its establishment in 2006 research in the Gregory laboratory has focused on understanding molecular and cellular mechanisms controlling RNA biogenesis and decay and exploring the relevance of these pathways in stem cell pluripotency, mammalian development, and human disease. He is committed to exploiting the basic knowledge of RNA regulatory pathways for the discovery and development of new and effective therapies.

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Peng Du Headshot

Peng Du, PhD

Dr. Du received his PhD degree in 2012 from Peking University, Beijing, China and afterwards joined the Gregory lab. His research focuses on miRNA regulation in stem cells and cancer, as well as studying enzymatic and structurally-related noncoding RNAs’ metabolism and regulation.

Shuibin Lin Headshot

Shuibin Lin, PhD

Dr. Lin received his PhD in 2012 from University of Florida, where he studied the genetic and epigenetic regulation of Notch signaling in stem cells and cancer. He is currently working on mechanisms of RNA regulation and the related roles of RNA regulation in stem cells and cancer. Dr. Lin is supported by the Damon Runyon-Sohn Pediatric Cancer Research Fellowship (2013-2017) by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation.

Robinson Triboulet Headshot

Robinson Triboulet, PhD

Dr. Triboulet earned a PhD degree from University of Montpellier I, Montpellier, France. He is primarily interested in understanding microRNA regulation and function in embryonic stem cells and cancer cell lines. Dr. Triboulet is a recipient of the Wolbach Fellowship award from the Simeon Burt Wolbach Research Fund.

Mehdi Pirouz Headshot

Mehdi Pirouz, PhD

Dr. Pirouz received his PhD from Goettingen University, Germany (Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry) in 2013, during which he studied germ cell development and pluripotency in mouse embryonic stem cells. He also worked on the role of BAF chromatin remodeling complexes in brain development. Dr. Pirouz started his postdoctoral training in March 2014 in the Gregory lab and he is interested in the role of noncoding RNAs in stem cells, development and diseases.

Junho Choe Headshot

Junho Choe, PhD

Dr. Choe received his PhD in 2013 then was a Postdoctoral Fellow, both at Korea University. In 2014 Dr. Choe joined the Gregory lab as a Postdoctoral Fellow and has been interested in mRNA decay and translation in mammalian cells. Dr. Choe has found intriguing translation-coupled mRNA decay machinery in mouse embryonic stem cells and is also interested in mRNA modifications involved in translation.

Lab Manager

Carmen Rios Headshot

Carmen Rios, MS, MBA

Carmen earned her MBA degree from the University of Houston in 2010 and her MS degree in Bioengineering from the University of Pittsburgh in 2012. Though Carmen's background/training and past research were in Biomedical Engineering, she is eager to broaden her toolkit of knowledge by learning as much as she can about molecular biology, namely RNA biogenesis, function and regulation.

Lab Alumni

Yoshinori Nishimoto, MD, PhD (Post-Doctoral Fellow, 2013-2016)

Masaki Mori, MD, PhD (Post-Doctoral Fellow, 2011-2014)

Robert LaPierre (Lab Manager, 2006-2013)

James Thornton, PhD (Graduate Student, 2009-2013)

Natalia Martinez, PhD (Post-Doctoral Fellow, 2009-2013)

Hao-Ming Chang, PhD (Post-Doctoral Fellow, 2008-2013)

John Hagan, PhD (Post-Doctoral Fellow, 2008-2011)

Elena Piskounova, PhD (Graduate Student, 2007-2011)